GFDL Lunchtime Seminar

Wed, Nov 20, 2019, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm

The logarithmic scaling of CO2 forcing is well-known and well-tested, but not very well understood in the sense that multiple unrelated explanations for it exist in the literature. Less well-known is the spatial heterogeneity in CO2 forcing, which varies from negligible or even negative values near the poles to much larger values in the tropics. In this talk I present a first principles, analytical model for CO2 forcing which captures both the logarithmic scaling of the forcing as well as these spatial variations, and which provides basic insight into both.

Location: 
Smagorinsky Seminar Room 209
Speaker(s): 

[Virtual] HMEI Faculty Seminar

Tue, Feb 2, 2021, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Virtual

[Virtual] David Bradford Energy and Environmental Policy Seminar

Mon, Feb 8, 2021, 12:15 pm to 1:15 pm
Location: Virtual

[Virtual] David Bradford Energy and Environmental Policy Seminar

Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 12:15 pm to 1:15 pm
Location: Virtual

[Virtual] David Bradford Energy and Environmental Policy Seminar

Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 12:15 pm to 1:15 pm
Location: Virtual

[Virtual] ACEE Highlight Seminar Series

Thu, Feb 25, 2021, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Virtual

[Virtual] David Bradford Energy and Environmental Policy Seminar

Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 12:15 pm to 1:15 pm
Location: Virtual

[Virtual] HMEI Faculty Seminar

Tue, Mar 2, 2021, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Virtual

[Virtual] David Bradford Energy and Environmental Policy Seminar

Mon, Mar 8, 2021, 12:15 pm to 1:15 pm
Location: Virtual

[Virtual] David Bradford Energy and Environmental Policy Seminar

Mon, Mar 22, 2021, 12:15 pm to 1:15 pm
Location: Virtual

[Virtual] Andlinger Highlight Seminar

Thu, Mar 25, 2021, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Virtual