GFDL Formal Seminar

Thu, Nov 8, 2018, 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm

The Beaufort Gyre is a key circulation system of the Arctic Ocean and its main reservoir of freshwater. We describe a mechanism that is fundamental to its dynamics, namely the “ice-ocean stress governor”. Wind blows over the ice and the ice drags the ocean. But as the gyre spins up, currents catch the ice up and turn off the surface stress. This governor sets the basic properties of the gyre, such as its depth, freshwater content, and strength. Analytical and numerical modeling is employed to contrast the equilibration processes in an ice-covered versus ice-free gyre. We argue that as the Arctic warms, reduced sea-ice extent and more mobile ice will result in a deeper and faster Beaufort gyre, accumulating more freshwater which will be released by Ekman upwelling or baroclinic instability. Finally, we describe how the Ice-Ocean governor might play an important role south of the Antarctic Divergence in the seasonal ice zone of the Southern Ocean.

Location: 
Smagorinsky Seminar Room 209
Speaker(s): 

GEO/AOS/PEI Climate Seminar

Mon, Jan 28, 2019, 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Location: Guyot 220

GFDL Winter 2019 Poster Expo

Wed, Jan 30, 2019, 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Location: Smagorinsky Seminar Room 209

PEI Faculty Seminar

Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Guyot 10

Environmental Geology & Geochemistry Seminar (EGGS)

Thu, Feb 7, 2019, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Guyot 220

GEO Solid Earth Brown Bag Seminar

Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Location: Guyot 220

GEO Department Lecture

Tue, Feb 12, 2019, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Guyot 10

GFDL Lunchtime Seminar

Wed, Feb 13, 2019, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Location: Smagorinsky Seminar Room 209

Environmental Geology & Geochemistry Seminar (EGGS)

Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Guyot 220

GFDL Lunchtime Seminar

Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Location: Smagorinsky Seminar Room 209

Environmental Geology & Geochemistry Seminar (EGGS)

Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Guyot 220