GEO/AOS/PEI Climate Seminar

Mon, Nov 12, 2018, 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm

The radiative and chemical properties of Earth's atmosphere - of paramount importance for climate - are dominated by gases with minute abundances. The atmospheric circulation disperses these trace gases from their source regions to regions of chemical destruction or deposition, and as such plays a critical role for their distributions and mass budgets. In turn, atmospheric observations of trace gases in combination with global numerical models provide a wealth of information on the circulation of Earth's atmosphere.

In this presentation, I will (i) review the extensive efforts made to build atmospheric composition measurements from satellites, and its global chemistry climate modeling capability, the Goddard Earth Observing S (GEOS) model; and (ii) demonstrate how this combination of measure and numerical modeling is crucial for our understanding of Earth's atmosphere, and changes therein.

Location: 
Guyot 220
Speaker(s): 

GEO/AOS/PEI Climate Seminar

Mon, Jan 28, 2019, 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Location: Guyot 220

GFDL Winter 2019 Poster Expo

Wed, Jan 30, 2019, 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm
Location: Smagorinsky Seminar Room 209

PEI Faculty Seminar

Tue, Feb 5, 2019, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Guyot 10

Environmental Geology & Geochemistry Seminar (EGGS)

Thu, Feb 7, 2019, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Guyot 220

GEO Solid Earth Brown Bag Seminar

Fri, Feb 8, 2019, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Location: Guyot 220

GEO Department Lecture

Tue, Feb 12, 2019, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Guyot 10

GFDL Lunchtime Seminar

Wed, Feb 13, 2019, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Location: Smagorinsky Seminar Room 209

Environmental Geology & Geochemistry Seminar (EGGS)

Thu, Feb 14, 2019, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Guyot 220

GFDL Lunchtime Seminar

Wed, Feb 20, 2019, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Location: Smagorinsky Seminar Room 209

Environmental Geology & Geochemistry Seminar (EGGS)

Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Location: Guyot 220